E9.2 JDE statuses

beomgyu

hello! this may be a dumb question
i'm pretty new to using jde
what does "last status 280" and "next status 440" mean?
for context, i entered a PO and added an invoice. it's been approved by the approvers, but AP needs to issue a cheque for the payment. do i tell them everything is done on my end? does this mean everything has been approved?

not a dumb question. i still don't feel like i have a full grasp on the status thing, after 20 years (though I've been a tech). Following to see this explained for me!

Hi - Not a dumb question. Order activity rules (OAR) gives flexibility to the process, by Order Type and Line Type. I think of it as "where you are" and "Where you're going" combination. Programs move line items (therefore the status codes) onward. So, after entry (220) what's next?
In your example, "where you are" (280) that's PO Print. Because that's in the "last status" position, I know that step has been completed and you are headed to receipt. "Where you're going" seems to be a receipt variation - 440 for 2-way voucher match (400 is the delivered receipt status for 3-way voucher match).

Because your last status is 280, I know there has not yet been a partial receipt (programs move line items forward). If your line item was (as an example) 440/440, that might be an example of Initial receipt / Partial Receipt awaiting for the remaining balance.
Status codes also allow for filtering for only line items at that status: there might be a non-stock Receipt Match process that has a PO inquiry version that is only filtering for non-stock line items at 440.